The Kenneths
Photo Gallery
07.08.17

Punk Rock Holiday 1.7

 

Day 1

On the first day, the Steamography crew took a tour of the Tolmin gorge. It is only ten minutes by car from Tolmin and thanks to the festival there is also reduced admission. A visit is really worth it, the tour takes almost two hours and is definitely recommendable. Afterwards we had excellent food in a small restaurant with country-typical kitchen. The warm-UP could thus start well.


As the first band of the evening we watched the CLOWNS, a really successful start, the guys have delivered an energetic show of the finest. With JAYA THE CAT followed one of my personal highlights of the festival, it was definitely one of the best gigs of the festival.

But also PIGS PARLAMENT in the aftermath have spread a lot of fun. And then it finally was the bands turn, who probably everyone in his youth was listening to: THE OFFSPRING. As expected, the set consisted primarily of songs by Smash and Ixnay on the hombre, but a few new songs were also in the set. Watching these guys perform, you simply notice that they are full-fledged. It even came to the question, whether they play back play, as the whole show was just perfect. A great graduation for a first festival day.



 

Day 2

On the second day, the beach stage was opened, but due to sightseeing, we just made it to the bands on the Main Stage. The GENERATORS started, which was a good start for the evening. The first highlight of the evening were THE REAL MCKENZIES. Punkrock with bagpipes fits together perfectly and is simply fun. After that IGNITE fully convinced and perfectly tuned to the main act of the evening.


At PENNYWISE, there was no more holding, one hit after another and, as usual, the compulsory song for each Pennywise concert: Bro Hymn. You can get goosebumps when a whole festival sings this song.


Day 3

This time no sightseeing, instead we went in the early afternoon down to the beach stage. The location is so nice, you do not really need to go anywhere else. This is exactly what is so special about the PRH. Instead of simply frying in the sun, you are sitting on a beautiful spot at the river, drinking a melonball, hovering over the porky river on a gum animal, and still having the live performance of punk bands from all over the world directly in front of your lazy ass.



On this day, NOT ON TOUR have set off the Beach Stage. What a great band! Definitely one of the best live bands ever. On the Main Stage ANTI-FLAG were not the main act, but definitely the best band of the evening.




Day 4

As the day before, the day began early in the afternoon on the beach. After all, this is holiday. Unfortunately, the weather did not play well that day. In the late afternoon it began to rain, which then developed very quickly to a short but very violent storm, which is why the concerts had to be interrupted briefly. For the camping visitors, especially those with tent, the storm probably had the most unpleasant consequences. The campground has looked (even more) like a battlefield, but without mud there wouldn’t be a real festival feeling. But in the evening it was forgotten. At the beginning THE PEARS provided, with a very energetic frontman, a great show.




Also TEENAGE BOTTLEROCKET did not disappoint. The performance of MADBALL was customary, it’s always a pleasure to watch these guys live, even if you have seen them already a thousand times before. With LESS THAN JAKE, the fun music evening was also ushered in and you were perfectly adjusted to the musical madhouse in the form of TOY DOLLS. And they really delivered what you expect, a happy drunk childbirth party.

 

 

Day 5

Hardly to believe how fast such a five-day festival can end, but four days of the party also do not pass without traces. Nevertheless, the last forces were gathered and in the early afternoon we went to the Beach Stage to look at our export hit from Munich: STRAIGHTLINE. And they showed that they truly deserve this label. Especially their boom boom boom boom cover enjoyed a special resonance among the audience. DARKO have subsequently played a similar musical style and left a very good impression, too.



In the evening on the Main Stage, especially 88 FINGERS LOUIE convinced, of course, PROPAGHANDI was rightly a worthy and super final show for this brilliant festival.

 

 

Here`s the Punkrock Holiday 1.5 report

Here`s the Punkrock Holiday 1.6 report



 
(Autor: Gordon Shameway / Photos: John Steam)

Clowns
Jaya the cat
Offspring
The Generators
08.08.17
The Real McKenzies
Ignite
Pennywise
09.08.17
Not on tour
Slapshot
Darko (Accustic)
Anti Flag
Good Riddance
10.08.17
After the fall (Accustic)
Pears
Teenage Bottlerocket
Madball
Less than Jake
Toy Dolls
11.08.17
Straightline
Darko
Chixdiggit
Snuff
Propagandhi
Deutsch English
STEAMOGRAPHY
analog photography

The Kenneths
Photo Gallery
07.08.17

Punk Rock Holiday 1.7

 

Tag 1

Am ersten Tag hat die Steamography-Crew erstmal ganz kulturbewusst etwas Sightseeing gemacht und die Tolminer Klamm besucht. Ist mit dem Auto nur knappe zehn Minuten von Tolmin entfernt und dank Festivalband gibt es auch noch verbilligten Eintritt. Ein Besuch lohnt sich wirklich, die Tour dauert knapp zwei Stunden und ist auf jeden Fall zu empfehlen. Danach gab es noch ein ausgezeichnetes Essen in einem kleinen Restaurant mit landestypischer Küche. Wohl gestärkt konnte das Warm-UP also starten.


Als erste Band des Abends haben wir uns dann die CLOWNS angeschaut, ein wirklich gelungener Auftakt, die Jungs haben eine energiegeladene Show vom Feinsten abgeliefert. Mit JAYA THE CAT folgte schon eins meiner persönlichen Highlights des Festivals, war definitiv einer der besten Gigs des Festivals.

Aber auch PIGS PARLAMENT im Anschluss haben durchaus Spaß und Laune verbreitet. Und dann war es endlich soweit, die Band, die wohl jeder in seiner Jugend rauf und runter gehört war dran: THE OFFSPRING. Wie zu erwarten bestand deren Set vornehmlich aus Songs von Smash und Ixnay on the hombre, ein paar neue Nummern waren aber auch dabei. Bei den Herren merkt man einfach, dass sie Vollprofis sind. Es kam sogar die Frage auf, ob sie Playback spielen, das war einfach technisch perfekt umgesetzt. Ein super Abschluss für einen ersten Festivaltag.

 

 

Tag 2

Am zweiten Tag war dann auch die Beach Stage geöffnet, allerdings haben wir es, wieder dem Sightseeing geschuldet, erst zu den Bands auf der Main Stage geschafft. Angefangen haben THE GENERATORS, was schon mal ein gelungener Einstieg für den Abend war. Das erste Highlight des Abends waren aber THE REAL MCKENZIES. Punkrock mit Dudelsack passt super zusammen und macht einfach Spaß. IGNITE haben im Anschluss dann auch voll überzeugt und perfekt auf den Hauptact des Abends eingestimmt.

Bei PENNYWISE gabs dann kein Halten mehr, ein Hit nach dem anderen und als gewohnten Abschluss natürlich der Pflichtsong für jedes Pennywise-Konzert: Bro Hymn. Da kann man schon Gänsehaut bekommen, wenn ein ganzes Festival diesen Song mitsingt.


Tag 3

Dieses Mal kein Sightseeing, dafür gings am frühen Nachmittag runter zur Beach Stage. Die Location ist an sich so schön, da braucht man eigentlich nirgends anders hinfahren. Gerade das macht das PRH auch aus. Anstatt einfach auf einer Wiese in der Sonne zu braten, sitzt man hier an einem wunderschönen Fleckchen Erde am Fluss, trinkt einen Melon Ball, schippert auf einem Gummitierchen über den schweinekalten Fluss und hat während dessen noch die Live-Performance von Punkbands aus der ganzen Welt direkt vor der Nase.

An diesem Tag haben dann NOT ON TOUR die Beach Stage zur Explosion gebracht. Was für eine geile Band! Definitiv eine der besten Live-Bands, die es zur Zeit gibt. Auf der Main Stage waren dann ANTI-FLAG zwar nicht der Hauptact, aber auf jeden Fall die beste Band des Abends.




Tag 4

Wie am Tag zuvor begann der Tag am frühen Nachmittag am Strand. Man macht ja schließlich Urlaub. Leider hat das Wetter an diesem Tag nicht so mitgespielt. Am späten Nachmittag fing es zu regnen an, was sich dann recht schnell zu einem kurzen aber doch sehr heftigen Sturm entwickelt hat, weshalb die Konzerte auch kurz unterbrochen werden mussten. Für die campenden Festivalbesucher, gerade die mit Zelt, hatte der Sturm wohl unangenehmsten Konsequenzen. Der Campingplatz hat danach (noch mehr) nach einem Schlachtfeld ausgesehen, aber ohne Schlamm und Matsch kommt ja auch keine richtige Festivalstimmung auf. Aber am Abend war das dann auch schon wieder vergessen. Dafür haben zu Beginn THE PEARS gesorgt, sehr energiegeladener Frontmann, tolle Show haben die Herrschaften abgeliefert.


Auch TEENAGE BOTTLEROCKET haben im Anschluss nicht enttäuscht. Gewohnt souverän war dann auch der Auftritt von MADBALL, macht immer wieder Laune die Herren live zu sehen, auch wenn man sie schon gefühlte tausendmal gesehen hat. Mit LESS THAN JAKE wurde dann auch der spaßige Musikabend eingeläutet und man perfekt auf das musikalische Irrenhaus in Form der TOY DOLLS eingestellt. Und die haben wirklich geliefert was man sich erwartet, ein feuchtfröhlicher Kindergeburtstag.

 

 

 

Tag 5

Kaum zu glauben wie schnell so ein fünftägiges Festival zu Ende gehen kann, aber vier Tage Dauerparty gehen auch nicht spurlos an einem vorbei. Nichts desto trotz, die letzten Kräfte wurden gesammelt und los gings am frühen Nachmittag zur Beach Stage um sich erstmal unseren Exportschlager aus München anzuschauen: STRAIGHTLINE. Und die haben wie man es von ihnen gewohnt ist auch ordentlich abgeliefert. Vor allem ihr Boom-Boom-Boom-Boom-Cover hat beim Publikum besondere Resonanz genossen. DARKO haben im Anschluss in eine ähnliche musikalische Kerbe geschlagen, kam entsprechender Weise auch sehr gut an.

Am Abend auf der Main Stage haben vor allem 88 FINGERS LOUIE überzeugt, wobei natürlich PROPAGHANDI zu Recht ein würdiger und super Abschluss für dieses geniale Festival waren.

 

 

Hier gehts zum Bericht vom Punkrock Holiday 1.5

Hier gehts zum Bericht vom Punkrock Holiday 1.6



 
(Autor: Gordon Shameway / Photos: John Steam)

Clowns
Jaya the cat
Offspring
The Generators
08.08.17
The Real McKenzies
Ignite
Pennywise
09.08.17
Not on tour
Slapshot
Darko (Accustic)
Anti Flag
Good Riddance
10.08.17
After the fall (Accustic)
Pears
Teenage Bottlerocket
Madball
Less than Jake
Toy Dolls
11.08.17
Straightline
Darko
Chixdiggit
Snuff
Propagandhi
Deutsch English
STEAMOGRAPHY
analog photography