Flag
Photo Gallery
09.08.16
11.08.16
10.08.16
 

Punk Rock Holiday 1.6

Unfortunately, we had to omit the “warm up” Monday because we were at the beautiful "Resist to Exist" festival near Berlin. On the night we went back to Munich and in the early morning to the beautiful Tolmin in Slovenia ...

Thursday 9.8.16

... and off to our dear landlords we already knew from last year. First we fell into beds and went later to the festival area. The setup was different from last year and so it was a bit tedious until we all had our entrance-ribbons and our cash cards (you can´t pay with cash at the festival). In the meantime, ...

Antilectual
... on the main stage. I had expected a very different band (I thought of antitainment) and was positively surprised. Energy and presence were there, it was a good festival start.

Flag
Continueing with flag the -yes black flag- and/or these covering songs of Flag or whatever. Definitely well done and really enjoyable to hear all those songs live which were already old when you heard them first time on records.

Iron Reagan
Then i´ve almost completely missed Iron Reagan because of the 1 Euro beer-tent at the campsite (which often was sold out later in the festival). The last one and a half songs were definitely awesome. After a first short excursion to the beach and a cocktail by the water, the next band was ...

The Toasters
The toasters are just fun. Ska without too much punk but with a roughness that always pleases and let you swing all the time.

Bouncing Souls
The Bouncing Souls have been around for some time, but the 2 numbers which always occurred to me were early and the other songs could not really hit me live. So I went again to the bars and the (background) music.
Descendents
The descendents were fun but it was getting late, the day was long, the mind tired and it started to rain. On the way back it was getting wetter, and the whole night went on like this.

Wednesday 10.8.16

Unfortunately it was raining the largest part of the Wednesday. Because of that we went to a dinner in a great restaurant in the neighboring Zlatolmin (Zatolmin 1, 5220 Tolmin, Slovenia) which has great local food (everything with mushrooms and blue cheese is recommendable, nothing was bad). If you can go there, check it out. In the decaying rain we saw a great rainbow which seemed to end at the Punkrock Holiday area, beautiful.

NoFX
As we had learned in the meantime, NoFX had to exchange with Agnostic Front to make sure they got their flight to Russia in time because it was not clear how the roads around the area would look like the rain. I have seen NOFX last time about 11 years ago, and they were just blowing my mind. Joy, humor and a wide range of great songs we all know makes the performance of NOFX  to one of the absolute highlights of the festival.

Agnostic Front
After that, Agnostic Front had a hard job. Although some of the classic songs could convince, but supplemented by this uninspired Metalcore they also play, the overall result was sobering. I do not want to talk about the appearance and the playful skills of their guitarist Vinny Stigma either.

Strung Out
Strung Out then were more convincing with their well-played skatepunk with momentum. But their songs were more and more turning into melodic-speed-metallic style, which just did not crack enough with their solos.

Thursday 11.8.

My travel companions were on Thursday in the nearby Triglav National Park which was probably very worth seeing. There was apparently also a shuttle service from the festival, nice idea.

Noopinion
I was on the festival grounds in the early hours, in bright weather, and for the first time at the beach stage. And with Noopinion i`ve seen another absolute highlight of this years festival. Years ago I had seen this band again and again, but I haven´t really appreciated them. Now I will do, great skatepunk with enough kickass, fun and drinking.

The Decline
The Decline hit in a similar score, but unfortunately not as good as Noopinion.  Because of that I didn´t blew out an invitation to a few drinks at the campsite.
And so it goes on quite a while with a whole lot of drinks (surprisingly, the delicious grapefruit-radler with vodka is a perfectly drinkable alternative) and I was coming back later to the main stage.

Authority Zero
Authority Zero knew how to kick ass, but I entered the retreat for today, comfortably drunk.

Friday 12.8.

Slander
With Slander I had my absolute new discovery of the festival. Destroying Hardcore from Italy. Check them out.

NH3
We continue with Skapunk of NH3 with brass instruments and all that belongs to it. Has momentum and everyone who likes Ska-P can and should listen to the band.

Muncie Girls
Unfortunately not my case.

Total Chaos
Finally  a band like a band has to be for me. If a festival is called like this you should also book exactly such bands. The rest of the audience is not my opinon and I believe I haven`t seen the main stage so thinned out this year. Wrongly, because Total Chaos can also convince on the Great Stage. Stretch your fists and scream!

No Fun At All
No Fun At All catch up well and continue almost as well. Skatepunk which thrills because it is good oldschool skatepunk. Can not be wrong.

Millencolin
This band has always been overestimated in my opinion and is doing quite well for it. But in the last night they do not manage to hold me until the later punkrock karaoke at the beach stage and I make my way back.

Nice and exhausting, the weather did not play 100% this year, but it was another wonderful Punk Rock Holiday. See you next year.
Cheers&beers, MikE

PS - Here´s the Punkrock Holiday 1.5 report


 
(Autor: Mike Sunshine / Photos: John Steam)

12.08.16
Iron Reagan
Bouncing Souls
Bouncing Souls
Descendents
Agnostic Front
NoFx
Strung Out
Flatliners
Authority Zero
Donots
Slander
NH3
Muncie Girls
Total Chaos
No fun at all
Millencolin
Skateboard
Miniramp
Deutsch English
STEAMOGRAPHY
analog photography

Flag
Photo Gallery
09.08.16
11.08.16
10.08.16
 

Punk Rock Holiday 1.6

Den Montag mussten wir uns leider sparen, weil wir bis Sonntag beim wunderschönen „Resist to Exist" Festival in der Nähe von Berlin waren. In der Nacht gings dann zurück nach München und in aller Frühe dann weiter ins schöne Tolmin in Slowenien…

Dienstag 9.8.16

…und ab zu unseren lieben Vermietern die wir schon vom letzten Jahr kannten. Gerädert gings nochmal in die Betten und später dann ab zum Festival Gelände. Der Aufbau war anders als im letzten Jahr und deshalb wars etwas langwierig bis wir 8 alle unsere Bändchen hatten und unsere Cash-Cards richtig aufgeladen waren. Ab über den Zeltplatz und aufs Gelände. Inzwischen spielten schon…

Antilectual
…auf der Hauptbühne. Ich hatte eine ganz andere Band erwartet (ich dachte an Antitainment) und war positiv überrascht. Energie und Präsenz waren da und es war damit ein guter Festival Einstieg.

Flag
Weiter mit Flag die ja quasi Black Flag sind und/oder diese covern oder wie auch immer. Ham se auf jeden Fall gut gemacht und die Freude all diese Lieder die schon alt waren als man sie das erste Mal hörte jetz in Live und schön umgesetzt zu hören.

Iron Reagan
Iron Reagan hab ich dann vor lauter 1 Euro Dosenbier am Zeltplatz (welches im späteren Verlauf des Festivals häufig aus gegangen ist) fast komplett verpasst. Die letzten eineinhalb Lieder waren auf jeden Fall der Hammer. Nach einem ersten kurzen Ausflug an den Strand und einem Cocktail am Wasser geht’s auch schon wieder rauf zu...

The Toasters
The Toasters machen einfach Spaß. Ska ohne allzu viel Punk aber auf jeden Fall immer mit einer Rauheit die stets gefällt und einen mehr als nur mitwippen lässt.

Bouncing Souls
Die Bouncing Souls gibts ja nun auch schon länger, aber die 2 Nummern die mir immer bei ihnen einfallen waren schon früh gespielt und die restlichen Lieder konnten mich auch Live nicht wirklich aus den Socken hauen und damit gings nochmal Richtung Bars und die Musik wieder in den Hintergrund.

Descendents
Die Descendents machten dann zwar Spaß aber es wurde spät, der Tag war lang, der Geist müde und es begann zu regnen. Auf dem Rückweg wurde es auch immer nasser, und damit gings die ganze Nacht so weiter.

Mittwoch 10.8.16

Und so gings auch den größten Teil vom Mittwoch mit (teilweise Weltuntergangs-) Regen leider weiter. Wir waren dann zum Abendessen in einem tollen Restaurant im benachbartem Zlatolmin (Zatolmin 1, 5220 Tolmin, Slowenien) wo es tolles einheimisches Essen (alles mit Steinpilzen und Blauschimmelkäse ist zu empfehlen, nichts war schlecht) gibt. Wenn ihr könnt fahrt da auch mal hin, echte Abwechslung zum Festival Trubel. Im abklingenden Regen war noch ein toller Regenbogen zu sehen der scheinbar beim Punkrock Holiday Gelände zu enden schien.

NoFX
Wie wir zwischenzeitlich erfahren hatten mussten NoFX mit Agnostic Front tauschen um sicher zu stellen, dass sie ihren Flug nach Russland rechtzeitig kriegen, weil nicht klar war wie die Straßen in der Umgebung nach dem andauernden Regen aussehen würden.

NoFX habe ich dann nach 11 Jahren das erste Mal wiedergesehen, und sie haben mich begeistert. Spielfreude, Humor und ein breites Angebot aus großartigen Liedern die wir alle kennen machen den Auftritt von NoFX zu einem der absoluten Highlights des Festes.

Agnostic Front
Im Anschluss daran haben es Agnostic Front dann nicht leicht. Zwar konnten einige der Klassiker Songs durchaus überzeugen, aber ergänzt um diesen uninspirierten Metalcore den sie auch spielen, war das Gesamtergebnis doch ernüchternd. Von dem Auftreten und den spielerischen Fähigkeiten von ihrem Gitarristen Vinny Stigma will ich lieber erst gar nicht reden.

Strung Out
Strung Out waren dann mit ihrem gut gespielten Skatepunk mit Schwung schon wieder deutlich überzeugender. Immer wieder wurden aber aus den Songs leider schon fast Melodic-Speedmetallige Werke die mir mit ihren Soli einfach nicht mehr genug knackten.

Donnerstag 11.8.

Meine Reisegesellschaft war am Donnerstag erstmal im nahegelegenen Triglav Nationalpark der wohl sehr sehenswert war. Es gab anscheinend auch einen Shuttle-Service vom Festival Gelände, schöne Idee.

Noopinion
Ich hingegen war mal früher, bei strahlendem Wetter, am Festival-Gelände und damit erstmals an der Beach-Stage bei Live Musik in diesem Jahr. Und da hab ich mit Noopinion ein weitere absolutes Highlight von diesem Jahr bewundern dürfen. Vor Jahren hatte ich diese Band immer wieder mal gesehen, aber als bedeutend sind sie mir nicht gemerkt. Jetz wird ich das tuen, klasse Skatepunk mit genug Arschtritt, Spaß und Trinkfreudigkeit.

The Decline
The Decline schlagen in eine ähnliche Kerbe, können aber leider nicht ganz mithalten. Da schlag ich eine Einladung zu ein paar Drinks am Zeltplatz dann nicht aus.

Und so vergeht eine ganze Weile mit einer ganzen Menge Drinks (überraschender Weise ist der leckere Grapefruit-Radler mit Wodka eine durchaus trinkbare Alternative) und ich komme erst deutlich später zurück an der Main-Stage.

Authority Zero
Authority Zero wussten zu gefallen, ich aber trat für heute wohlig betrunken den Rückzug an.

Freitag 12.8.

Slander
Mit Slander haben wir meine absolute Neuentdeckung des Festivals. Hardcore aus Italien der zu gefallen weiß. Check them out.

NH3
Weiter gehts mit Skapunk von NH3 mit Bläsern und allem was dazu gehört. Hat Schwung und wem Ska-P gefallen der kann und sollte sich die Truppe auch mal anhören.

Muncie Girls
Leider gar nicht mein Fall.

Total Chaos
Endlich zwischendurch mal eine Band wie eine Band für mich sein muss. Wenn ein Festival so heißt wie dieses sollte man auch genau solche Bands buchen. Das sieht anscheinend das restliche Publikum nur bedingt so und ich habs vor der Hauptbühne dieses Jahr glaub ich nicht nochmal so ausgedünnt gesehen. Zu Unrecht, weil Total Chaos auch auf der Großen Bühne zu überzeugen wissen. Reckt die Fäuste und schreit mal wieder beim Singen!

No Fun At All
No Fun At All fangen gut an und machen fast genauso gut weiter. Skatepunk der begeistert, weil er Skatepunk ist der Skatepunk ist. Kann man wohl auch nichts falsch machen.

Millencolin
Diese Band war meiner Meinung schon immer massiv überbewertet und macht sich dafür ganz gut. Aber in der letzten Nacht schaffen sie es nicht mich bis zur später noch angesetzten Punkrock Karaoke an der Beach-Stage zu halten und ich mach mich auf den Rückweg.

Schön und anstrengend wars, das Wetter hat dieses Jahr nicht so 100%ig mitgespielt, aber schön wars trotzdem.

Cheers&beers, MikE

 

PS - Hier gehts zum Bericht vom Punkrock Holiday 1.5



 
(Autor: Mike Sunshine / Photos: John Steam)

12.08.16
Iron Reagan
Bouncing Souls
Bouncing Souls
Descendents
Agnostic Front
NoFx
Strung Out
Flatliners
Authority Zero
Donots
Slander
NH3
Muncie Girls
Total Chaos
No fun at all
Millencolin
Skateboard
Miniramp
Deutsch English
STEAMOGRAPHY
analog photography